Visivra Official Website › Blog › Visivra Lutein Amount
What is the Visivra lutein amount per capsule?
The Visivra lutein amount is the number most buyers want and the one the label leaves out. This page shows what the label gives, what published trials used for lutein, and how to treat the gap.
Quick answer
The Visivra lutein amount is not published. The label names lutein, sourced from Tagetes erecta, and gives no milligram figure. Trials used 10 mg a day, with 2 mg of zeaxanthin beside it. That figure describes those trials, not this capsule. Ask the order desk if the exact amount matters to you.
- Lutein is the first of six named actives, from Tagetes erecta.
- Amount on the label: not printed. The seller’s figure is held by the manufacturer.
- Trial amount: 10 mg a day for five years, which is 1,825 days.
- Zeaxanthin partner in that trial: 2 mg a day, a ratio of 5 to 1.
- No upper intake limit is set for lutein in the US.

See the pack and the guarantee
You can look at the real bottle and ask the order desk about the lutein figure. The guarantee runs 60 days from the purchase date.
See today’s price and guaranteeDisclosure: Govisivra earns money when a reader orders through this button. Prices were read from the seller’s page on September 19, 2026.
What is the Visivra lutein amount on the label?
Nothing is printed. The label names lutein as the first of six actives, and the vendor’s ingredient tile adds that it comes from Tagetes erecta, the marigold plant. The seller’s page agrees. None of the three gives a milligram figure.
There is also no serving size and no Supplement Facts panel. So the lutein amount cannot be worked out from the bottle in any way, not even by dividing a total.
What lutein amount did the trials use, compared with the Visivra lutein amount?
The largest trial cited on this website gave 10 mg of lutein a day for five years. That is 1,825 days. The people in it already had an intermediate eye condition, so it tested whether progression could be slowed. It did not test whether healthy eyes see better.
A 2019 meta-analysis found that macular pigment density rose with lutein intake. A 2020 randomised trial measured contrast sensitivity alongside it, and used the same 10 mg a day. These are the results that put lutein at the front of this category.
| Question | What the sources say |
|---|---|
| Amount in the largest trial | 10 mg a day |
| Length of that trial | Five years, or 1,825 days |
| Partner pigment | Zeaxanthin, 2 mg a day |
| Amount in a Visivra capsule | Not published |
| Form of lutein in a Visivra capsule | Not stated (free or ester) |
The trial column describes the studies. Visivra is not that formula and inherits none of its findings.
Why does the Visivra lutein amount come with a zeaxanthin question?
Lutein and zeaxanthin are close relatives. Zeaxanthin dominates the very centre of the macula, where lutein thins out. In the big trial, 2 mg of zeaxanthin was given with every 10 mg of lutein. That is a ratio of 5 to 1.
Visivra names both, but gives no amount for either. So even if you learned the lutein figure, you would still want the zeaxanthin one to see whether the pair resembles the trial ratio. A dose-comparison study in high myopia found the pigment response tracked the zeaxanthin given.
Does the form change the Visivra lutein amount?
It can. Lutein is sold as free lutein or as an ester. A randomised cross-over study compared the two for blood response and for contrast threshold. The Visivra label states neither form.
That is a second blank beside the amount. A number of milligrams alone would still not tell you how well the lutein is absorbed. Fat helps too. A controlled feeding study varied the oil eaten with a carotenoid-rich meal and found absorption rose with it, so the routine ties the capsule to a meal with some fat.
Is a high Visivra lutein amount a safety problem?
On the evidence cited here, lutein is quiet. No upper intake limit is set in the US. At very high intake, the trials report occasional mild digestive upset. Very high carotenoid intake over months can tint the palms and soles yellow-orange. That is harmless and it reverses.
The safety questions on this label are about zinc and vitamin A, not lutein. Our side effects post covers them. Visivra is for adults aged 18 and over, and not for anyone pregnant or nursing.
How can you find the Visivra lutein amount?
Ask. The order desk is on +1 (323) 347-4522, and it can pass a question to the manufacturer. Ask three things: how many milligrams of lutein a capsule holds, which form is used, and how many milligrams of zeaxanthin sit beside it.
Until an answer is published, treat any figure you see online as a guess. The ingredients page shows the trial amounts beside the label so you can see the gap in one place. Also see our post on macular supplements with lutein and zeaxanthin.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Visivra lutein amount?
It is not published. The label names lutein and gives no milligram figure or serving size. The manufacturer holds the number.
How much lutein did the trials use?
The largest trial cited here used 10 mg a day for five years, alongside 2 mg of zeaxanthin. A 2020 trial also measured contrast sensitivity at that dose.
Is Visivra a 10 mg lutein formula?
We cannot say. Ten mg is a trial figure. Visivra’s own amount is not published, so it is not described as a 10 mg formula.
Where does the lutein in Visivra come from?
The vendor tile says Tagetes erecta, the marigold plant. The form, free or ester, is not stated.
Is lutein safe at high amounts?
No upper intake limit is set in the US, and the trials report little beyond mild digestive upset at very high intake. Talk to your doctor if you take other supplements or medicines.
Should I take Visivra with food?
The routine is one capsule with a meal that has some fat, because lutein is fat-soluble and absorption rises with fat.

Judge it over a fair stretch of time
Macular pigment builds over months, so a two-bottle pack covers 60 days and a three-bottle pack covers 90. Choose the length that matches how you want to test it.
Two bottles $158 · three bottles $207 · six bottles $294 · 60-day money-back guarantee
See today’s price and guaranteeDisclosure: Govisivra earns money when a reader orders through this button. Prices were read from the seller’s page on September 19, 2026.
Our view
On Visivra lutein amount, our view is short. Lutein is the best-studied name on the Visivra label, which makes its missing amount the biggest gap. A trial figure of 10 mg is useful to know, and it is not a reading of this bottle.
We would ask for the number, the form and the zeaxanthin partner before paying. If you buy first, use the 60-day window and keep your order ID handy.
Visivra is a dietary supplement. It is not a drug and it is not FDA approved, and no supplement is. This page does not treat, cure or prevent any eye disease, and it is not medical advice. Talk to your doctor before you start a supplement, especially if you take other medicines. If your sight has changed, book an eye exam. Sudden vision loss, new floaters or flashes, or eye pain need same-day care.
Sources named on this site
- The AREDS2 trial
- A 2019 meta-analysis
- A 2020 lutein trial
- A study of lutein forms
- A controlled feeding study
Keep reading
Last updated